Picking up the pieces and Moving On


It’s been about a year since the memory stick where I had stored the book guide to my project ‘Spoil the Child’ disappeared. It means that to use a cliché, a lot of water has passed under the bridge and that a lot of other work and writing has been done. To use another cliché, there is no use crying over spilled milk, but there are days when I wonder what might have been different if that memory stick had not gone missing. I’d basically finished the whole outline, all the character summaries, the setting and history. The only thing which needed to be done was to sit down and write the actual first draft. It was going to be the project that I would plan everything meticulously before I even started and was going to be the complete opposite to Pecan Hill, which was my pantser novel.

I would probably have finished the first draft and maybe even finished going through it a few times as well to polish it as well as possible before I sent it out into the world to fend for itself. Would it have been self-published or gone down the traditional route? No idea. I never got far with planning the ultimate destiny of the novel. I just wanted to write it.

Do I still want to write it?

Yes, but that fire has cooled down a little. The story is still there in the back of my mind but there are other ideas waging a war for my attention and I’m more excited about these than my old story idea. Maybe one day I’ll write it, but for now I’m happy forging ahead with the first novel in my Lords of the Apocalypse duology, War’s Regret. I’ve taken Pecan Hill about as far as I can take it without another major rewrite and I just don’t think I can go through all of that again.

War’s Regret is my baby at the moment and I want to see it all grown up. It’s a fantasy novel, although I’m not sure if it will be a real epic fantasy. It’s scope is epic, but I’m not sure I want to scale it that high. I think I’ll be fine with it being seen as a heroic fantasy. It’s also my attempt to write a fantasy throwing all of the old tropes out the door. It isn’t in a medieval world, there are no dragons, no goblins, no knights or magical swords.

It’s going to be different.

Leave a Reply

