The Way of Kings – 2011 Book of the Year


Yes, yes, I know that I’m a little behind the times and that Brandon Sanderson’s The Way of Kings came out in August 2010, but I was only able to get the novel this year. Before we go any further let me admit this – I’m a fan of Sanderson since I opened the first novel in his Mistborn trilogy. Admittedly, I didn’t enjoy the second and third novels in the series as much as that first one, but he had me hooked.

 

To be more honest, if it hadn’t been for the fact that he had been tipped to finish Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series, it might have been several more years before I discovered him. Any of you who have been following my blog for a while will know my dislike of the series, but everyone has their own tastes and one can’t fault the man for accepting the mantle to finish a project as big as The Wheel of Time. In fact, I admire him for the courage to take the torch from a man he admits as being his inspiration.

 

But, this isn’t about his work on The Wheel of Time but instead the first chapter in his own epic series, The Stormlight Archives. The man has taken what he learned while he wrote The Gathering Storm and applied it to his own writing style to refine his work even further.

 

It’s important to remember that this novel was the first act in what is reportedly a ten book series and any resolutions found in the novel are relatively small ones and there are definitely more questions posed in the novel than resolved. There are some characters which are only introduced and shown in the interludes between the different books and you just know that these characters will come to the fore in the rest of the series.

 

The best thing I can say about the novel is that it is the first one in a long time that I want to re-read.

One thought on “The Way of Kings – 2011 Book of the Year

  1. I have to agree that The Way of Kings was amazing and I savored every word of it. The world, the magic, the history, the characters, and the story questions all add up to a journey that I’m glad I began. I look forward to book two next year.

Leave a Reply

