Honorable Mention in Writers of the Future


Those of you who have been following this blog know that my writing group and I tried to put an anthology of our short stories together earlier in the year.  Unfortunately, due to some things which were really out of our control.

I suppose you could say that the project had a positive spin-off.  Writing the short story for the project changed a gear or something in my head and after finishing the first draft for the group project I wrote another short story which I called Necromancer as a way of taking a break from the other.  

In the end, it was the second short story which I enjoyed more than the first and after polishing the story I decided to take my chances and submitted to the Writers of the Future.  I thought nothing more of it and actually thought it had done nothing with the judges.

But this morning I got an email from the contest administrators saying that I had received an Honorable Mention for the story.  It feels strange but it's a little bit of validation telling me I'm on the right path.
One thought on “Honorable Mention in Writers of the Future

Leave a Reply

