Inspirations: Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman


How can I include one of my favourite fantasy characters in Sturm Brightblade and not include the two in whose mind he was created. I have heard rumours the characters from Dragonlance came from a roleplaying group but I’m not entirely certain whether they are only rumours or the truth and so I’ll work on the assumption that Sturm was their creation. But I’m being sidetracked.

During their time at TSR, they created the world of Krynn and the Dragonlance setting and a world in which my imagination could run wild. I believe that by the time I moved “on” and decided to only hang onto the core books (which are all written by MW and TH) I had upwards of 30/40 Dragonlance books. I loved my knights (more than my wizards) and what better setting for knights and heroic warriors than Dragonlance. They captivated my imagination and kept me coming back for more of the adventures of the Majere brothers.

Just thinking about the fond memories I had of Dragonlance and the town of Solace brings a fuzzy kind of happiness to my heart. This was the world of my adolescence.

They were far from one horse ponies and brought out the Death Gate Cycle in the Nineties and the great anti-hero Haplo. I remember sitting in the back of the family car on the way to a friend’s birthday reading ‘Into the Labyrinth’ which I’d only bought that morning. I didn’t want to get out the car when we finally arrived. From the beginning of the story, Haplo was made out to be an agent of a dark lord who only wanted to sow seeds of dissension and to destroy what had been created. But his character, like all of the characters they put into their books were more than just cardboard cut-outs and had motivations and hopes and dreams.

If Tolkien and King excited my mind and gave birth to my imagination, these two played with its limits.

2 thoughts on “Inspirations: Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

  1. My early fantasy reading completely missed most of the D&D series of novels. Though I did read R.A. Salvatore’s Icewind Dale trilogy and The Cleric Quintet. I thoroughly enjoyed them and Salvatore’s unique and creative melee and magic fighting sequences. I actually still consciously try and emulate that creativity when my characters fight, even though I haven’t read Salvatore in a decade….

    1. It’s been about a decade since I’ve read Dragonlance and have to say that I prefer Dragonlance to Forbidden Realms and Drizzt.

      I have found that the action in Drizzt and Dragonlance was also very well written and a lesson for anyone wanting to write an action scene.

Leave a Reply

