Huge Life Decisions, Awards and the Green Eyed Monster


Huge Life Decisions

I suppose you could say that there comes a time in everyone’s life when they need to make those huge decisions which will change absolutely everything. When we were growing up they used to be called grown up decisions. One doesn’t get any older without making these life-altering decisions. What am I going to do with my life? Am I going to study? Am I going to bum around Europe while I ‘find myself’? Is this the right girl for me for the rest of my life?

I suppose that I have reached that point in my life and a HUGE decision needs to be made.

I have never made it a secret that I don’t exactly enjoy my job and want to become a full-time writer; I don’t think that will ever change. This decision though has more of a bearing toward my current state of employment. I have reached that point in my life when I have started to wonder whether I should go out there and do my own thing. I’m tired of being subject to other asshole’s decisions and moods. Don’t get me wrong I like working with my current bosses, they are probably the best bosses that I have ever had before. My problem is more with those who think they are my bosses; the people around me.

While starting my own thing would put a lot of pressure on me, it would also give me my own hours. In the beginning it would be 24/7/365 but it would eventually reach the point where I can dictate my own hours of work (I hope) and I’ll be the boss.

The big question though is if I have that entrepreneurial spirit?

Awards

When I went on my first Global Controllers Meeting I found out that the company had something called a Crystal Ball Award for the company whose forecasted results were closest to actual results. Being naturally competitive (something I’ve only actually discovered recently), I wanted it and I wanted it bad. It was destined to be mine and I had to win it.

I thought it might take a while before I would be able to put the systems in place to be able to get my figures right.

Well, late last week I got an e-mail from head office congratulating me on having won the Crystal Ball Award for 2010. I was exceptionally pleased with myself, having won the award in my very first year.

The challenge now, of course, is to retain the trophy. Bring it on.

The Green Eyed Monster

I have to admit that I have also experienced a little of that green-eyed monster this week. I haven’t acted on my green streak but I can feel it all the same. One of the other guys in my writing group managed to land himself an agent for his novel which we have been going through. Now, before any of you jump on my back I don’t begrudge him his achievement, but I still have that feeling that ‘I wish that was me’. He worked incredibly hard on the novel and his writing craft and deservedly got picked up by an agent.

It has though inspired me to try and push harder to try and get my own work of passion out there to be picked up by an agent and eventually published.  But until then I’ll have to live vicariously through him and follow him on his website which he has recently set up.

And I urge you to get on the wagon now, so you can also say that you were following Frank Morin before he became the next big thing. You can follow him and his exploits to get his novel, Aegis Crux published, at TheStoryLives.

Leave a Reply

