Still behind


This year is going far too quickly to be able to do anything than hold on tight and hope life doesn’t buck you off its back.

It seems as though life gets busier with every passing year. I thought 2009 had gone fast but 2010 has really put last year to shame. If 2011 continues the trend I’ll inhale and then it’ll be gone.

There is still court room battles between the Sharks and the Cheetahs over poor Lionel Mapoe who only wants to play, only not for the Cheetahs who he says cheated him. If one picks up the latest edition of SA Rugby where they do an article on the whole affair they really make it seem as though he was taken to the cleaners and who wants to work for an employer who tries to screw over their employees? Certainly not me.

I’ve started to read George R R Martin’s A Song of Fire and Ice and it is definitely one of the best reads this year. 2010 will be remembered for the following books:

  1. The Dresden File books by Jim Butcher
  2. The Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson; and
  3. A Song of Fire and Ice by George R R Martin

I have Steven Erikson’s Gardens of the Moon in my reading queue, so it might be added to the list as well.

My writing is going well. The writing forum guys seem to enjoy where I’m taking Lords of the Apocalypse. I’m enjoying writing it but my mind is still throwing itself back to Pecan Hill. I’ll never get any rest while that work is still far from perfected. I’ve joined another group in the same forum to go through Pecan Hill but they work nowhere close to the speed the Epic Fantasy group goes.

One thought on “Still behind

  1. Geoff,

    I don’t know why I haven’t found your blog before now. Happy to pop in for a visit. I’m glad you are giving your finished manuscript a whirl in another writers group. My first two unfinished novels were horror (Stephen Kingesque) and I have in the back of my mind to go back to them someday. Meanwhile, let us carry on in our mutual writers group focusing on our current epic fantasy projects.

Leave a Reply

