Here’s to starting out


Wow, so many things to say.  First of all, I have never done this before so here’s to starting out.

Shark boys
My son and I wearing the colours of our team, the Sharks

I am a massive rugby fan, particularly of the Sharks and the Springboks (from South Africa).  The Springboks are currently ranked number 1 in the world and are also the current holders of the World Cup.  The Sharks, unfortunately, not so high and mighty.  The Currie Cup final (South Africa’s domestic rugby competition) was over the last weekend and my team weren’t even involved in it.  Everyone had expected them to be there but they had been knocked out in the semis two weeks ago by the Free State Cheetahs, our hoodoo team.

The Springbok squad was also announced on Saturday after the final and there were definitely some bolters in the squad – probably the biggest being the fact that the number 2 and 3 hookers for the Bulls are considered better than the first choice hooker but it’s definitely a political choice and not a merit selection.

There are also plenty of rumors that Heinrich Brussow, the find of 2009 and the player who probably beat us twice single handedly has signed on for the Sharks for next year.  If you can’t beat them, get them to join you…  People will accuse us of buying players but they forget it’s a professional sport and money talks.

I’m the financial manager for  a company which imports the majority of all recreational fishing equipment into South Africa and have been there for almost three months and am really enjoying it so far.

The Family Stokker
Myself, my wife Tarryn and our son showing support for the Boks before they beat the All Blacks

But my real passion is after hours when I can spare the time to concentrate on my dream of becoming a writer.  I have finished my first manuscript, a novel called PECAN HILL, for which I have high hopes.  Unfortunately so far there are no bites from the agents to whom I have submitted, but I have to remind myself that I will eventually get there.  I have to remind myself that everyone struggles to break in and that both Stephen King and Dean Koontz (two of my favorite authors) had their first four books rejected before they sold their first novel.  I’m hoping I don’t need to write another three though.

I’m wrestling with the decision to publish PECAN HILL as an ebook and skip the whole trouble with finding a publisher.  I’ve been looking at what books are being sold as ebooks and they’re all non-fiction, HOW-TO books.  Maybe I’m a little old fashioned with my fiction but I like to hold my books or my ipod if I’m listening to an audiobook.  Speaking of which, I have recently finished Joe Hill’s Heart-Shaped Box and I really enjoyed it, one of the best audiobooks I have listened to.  My next one is Terry Goodkind’s Wizard’s First Rule.

Bye for now

Leave a Reply

